Mutants for Kelly

I first wrote this years ago, lost it, and now rewrote it. It is about the X-Men movies and the 90’s X-Men cartoon (the mutant stories in the Marvel Comic universe don’t work logically at all). Thinking about it from the perspective of a low or non-powered mutant, given what happens movies it makes sense that there would be mutants supporting mutant registration. If you just looked weird or could only change the color of your skin, seeing Magnito move a bridge and Jean Gray destroy everything and everyone on Alcatraz island would scare you just as much as non-mutants. This is never talked about in the movies so I wrote a story about it.

“Thank you Mike. I’m here talking to four mutants from the Mutants for Kelly campaign. Why are you, as mutant, supporting Senator Kelly who is notoriously anti-mutant?”

“Hi Ann,” Anime Girl replied, “Not all mutants are super powered, and we are just as afraid of the super powered mutants as regular people are.”

“Yes,” Doctor Horseface interjected, “I can not hide the fact that I am a mutant and when I walk down the street people cross the street afraid I will, I don’t know, explode their heads, and I do the same thing when I see another mutant coming my way because I don’t know if he is dangerous.”

“I was nearly killed in a mutant fight I had no part in.” Captain Metal Detector added. “Magnito and the X-Men fight over something and a building was knocked over. I was lucky to get out with just a shrapnel wound. I did two tours in Iraq I was never as close to death as I was on that beach”

“It is teleprompters that scare me the most.” The Amazing Technicolor Man said, turning from blue to olive green. “These people have powers that a locked door can’t even stop.”

“My husband and I run a business out of our home,” Anime Girl added, “if someone teleported in or walked through our wall how could we stop them?”

“I have three daughters, how can I keep them safe from people who walls can’t stop.” Technicolor Man continued, changing from orange to magenta. “or someone invisible waltzing into the bathroom or locker room when they are at school?”

“Okay, but aren’t you worried that by supporting Senator Kelly and his mutant registration act your helping those that want to segregate, incarcerate or even kill mutants?” The reporter Ann Right asked.

“We are very worried about that,” Doctor Horseface answered, “Me, Anime Girl and Techincolor Man can’t hide the fact that we are mutants but we are not the problem. It is the Brotherhood of Mutants, and the X-Men, and the walking weapons of mas destruction. They are the ones that are causing the damage.”

“If it wasn’t for them people wouldn’t fear us.” Technicolor Man added changing from fuchsia to blue-violet.

“I served my country, I did three tours in Iraq finding and defusing bombs. There are ways of dealing with fear and hatred of mutants with out destroying bridges and stadiums or fighting a mutant civil war” Captain Metal Detector said.

“We are working to get the message out that most of us are not super powered,” Anime Girl explained, “that we or no stronger or more powerful than a normal human and that we fear the super powered people just as much as you do.”

“Okay, thank you for your thoughts. Back to you Mike.” Ann Right ended the interview.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started