I think I’ve done something very bad.

“This isn’t happening.” Marcus repeated while looking down at a news paper on a desk. “This can’t be happening!”

“It is.” Edgar said standing behind Marcus. “You see it there, in the paper.” Standing next to Marcus, Edgar picked up the paper and looked at the headline story. “That poor girl, beaten, murdered, and you did it!”

“No!” Marcus exclaimed, covering his ears, as he walked away. He stopped, looked towards a leather chair, “I couldn’t have!” He turned toward Edgar, pointed to the chair, “I was sitting there, watching TV.”

“Were you?” Edgar said sitting in the chair.

Marcus turned towards Edgar sitting in the chair, “Yes!” he yelled.

Standing next to the TV, “What was on?” Edger asked.

“Um, er.” Marcus thought then: “I- I don’t know.” Marcus paused, “I forgot.”

Standing in front of Marcus Edgar again accused: “You don’t know because you weren’t home, you were out killing that-”

“No!” Marcus turned and walked away from Edgar. “No, no, no, no! I didn’t do it! I was home watching TV”

Standing, again, next to the TV Edgar said: “If you were home, why can’t you remember what was on TV?”

Frustrated Marcus turned and yelled “I forgot! People forget things. I can’t remember everything!”

Standing at the desk again, looking at the paper: “Look at that poor girl. Brown hair, brown eyes. Just like Marie.”

Marcus turned towards Edgar, “Stop it!” he yelled . “Stop it right now! That was an accident!”

Edger looked at Marcus, “Just like Ellien.”

Marcus covered his ears, turned away from Edgar, and: “Shut up! I could never hurt her!”

Standing in front of Marcus: “Like you could never hurt Marie?”

Marcus turned, walked away from Edgar again. “That was an accident! I never meant to hurt her!”

Standing to the right of Marcus: “Yes you did!” Standing in front of Marcus: “You couldn’t have her so no one could!”

“No. It was an accident. I didn’t mean to hurt her.” Marcus looked down at his hands: “I- I- I just-”

“You wanted her to pay.” Edgar placed his hand on Marcus’s chest, “She broke your heart so she had to pay.” Placing his hand back at his side, “Now you can’t hurt her so you hurt them. You make them suffer for Marie’s crime!”

Marcus looked at Edgar and: “No. No. I-”

“And Ellien will be next.”

“No!”

“She is right next door. You have a key. She is an easy-”

“No! No.” Marcus’s voice became weak.

“You can stop it.” Edgar stood at the desk, “You can save her.” He opened a drawer, took out a gun, placed it at his head and: “Pow, it’s all over, and Elene will be safe.”

Marcus looked at Edgar.

Standing next to Marcus, Edgar put in hand on Marcus’s shoulder, “Go on-” he held the gun in front of Marcus “-just think of all those girls you will hurt if you don’t.”

Marcus walked towards the desk. He looked at the desk, at the drawer.

From the left of Marcus: “Go on, do it. It is the only way.” Edgar encouraged.

With trembling hand Marcus opened the drawer and picked up the gun.

“It is the only way.” Edgar said. “Do it!”

Ellien sat at her table reading a book, eating fries. A loud pop startled her, it came from Marcus’s apartment. She rushed to Marcus’s apartment. Opening the door she saw Marcus, holding a gun, looking at the floor, with no one else there.

Marcus looked down at Edgar laying on the floor, dead with a bullet wound on his chest. The apartment door opened, Marcus turned and saw Ellien then looked down at his hand, still gripping the gun, his finger tightly on the trigger. He quickly dropped the gun.

“Are you okay?” Ellien asked, concerned.

“No.” Marcus answered. “I think I’ve done something very bad.”

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started