Tall Fishing Tale

Don’t go fishing at Taluca Lake. I don’t know if it is evil or other worldly but there is something wrong with that lake. It was about thirteen years ago I saw it, I haven’t fished there since.

I went there to fish with my new fishing rod, I went out on my old fishing boat, the USS Enterprise I called her. All I wanted was a nice calm day of catching fish. At about noon I got a nibble, I pulled on my rod and started reeling it in. It was strong, real strong, it started pulling back, harder than I could. My new fishing rod was expensive, I wasn’t about to let it go. I gripped my rod with all my strength, I put my foot on the side of the Enterprise to brace myself. It pulled harder, binding my rod to the point I thought it would break. I lost my footing, fell, and got pulled into the water.

Under the water I saw what had my line. I ain’t about to describe it to you. I don’t know if I could if I wanted to. What ever it was it looked like it came out of the nightmares of Lovecraft himself. I let go of my expensive fishing rod and swam back to the surface as quickly as I could.

When I emerged I wasn’t in Kansas anymore, if you know what I mean. The sky was dark but bright, the trees all seemed to move, the air was heavy and thick but bone dry. I tell you, I almost shit myself. I dove back down into the water. I’m not sure what happened next, I found myself on the shore. My cloths were dry, the rod was gone, and the Enterprise was still in the lake, turned over. I was too scared to go back out and get her.

I ain’t been fishing since, I ain’t been to that lake since. Hell, I ain’t been swimming since then. You may think I’m a crazy old man but believe me, there’s something wrong at that lake.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started