Time to Pass Over

I woke up and looked up from my bed,
I saw a frightful figure that filled me with dread.
With a cloak and a scythe it looked down at me,
at that moment I had an urge to flee.

“It is time” it said with gravel,
and that brought forth my instincts for survival.
I leapt from my bed and fled from the room,
I shut the door behind me with quite a boom.

Through the front door I ran,
running to get to me van.
But it appeared before me,
where “it is time” it again told me.

I stood there in fear,
then I turned to me rear,
Down the street I fled,
hoping it was full of led.

But again it appeared before me,
and again “it is time” it told me.
“leave me alone!” I screamed at the top of my voice,
it replied “I do not have a choice.”

“But what of my family?” said I with sorrow.
It replied: “I’m sorry but for you there is no tomorrow.
You can not stay here,
for you would become a spirit of anger and fear.”

“I’m not ready!” said I,
“I have not ‘goodbye.”
It replied “A goodbye or no,
It is time to go.

“Your life is over,
so you must pass over.
Here you can not stay,
for your spirit would become astray.

“Filled with loneliness and sorrow,
the spirits of others you would borrow
An evil spirit you would become,
so now you must come!”

“Can you give me one more day?
That would not lead me astray.
Or just a few hours?
Surely that is in you power?”

“I have not the power,
you must go this hour.
The debate is over,
it is time for you to pass over.”

With that it turned around
and tapped its scythe on the ground
A gate appeared before us,
and I knew I could no longer make a fuss.

My time had come,
and I could not run.
It was time to go,
whether up or below.


Image by Yuri_B

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started